‘I am content with the work I am doing here’

sona

Sonakshi Sinha (Picture Credit: PC Wallpapers)

Actress Sonakshi Sinha is all set for Da-Bangg-The Tour with Salman Khan and others. The team will perform in Australia and New Zealand in April-May. The actress who made her debut in Dabangg talks about the tour, herself and films. Excerpts:

The NRI audience will be hoping to see the Dabangg Jodi of Salman and Sonakshi  perform live together again. Tell us something about your special act.
We are working on the creatives, so the audiences will have to come to the show to watch but I assure you that if the Dabangg Jodi is together again, it will be a treat.

Which Bollywood classics would you like to perform to?
I performed to my favourite yesteryear songs last year at IIFA. I used to love dancing to Hawa Hawai as a kid, so I paid a tribute to Sridevi ji. In my film Force 2 there was a remixed version of Kaante Nahin and I thoroughly enjoyed shooting for it. I am up for performing to all the hits of the ’90s because that is what we have grown up listening to and I am really happy that they are making a comeback! There is also a reprised version of Gulabi Aankhen in my upcoming film Noor, which is outstanding!

Will the NRI audiences get to see any special performance of  Sonakshi and Prabhu Deva that will showcase the Indian culture?
We are planning on doing something on our songs together, We have done many hit songs,  all I can say is the audiences will love whatever they see.

Which international performers do you like?
I enjoy watching the shows of Beyonce, Lady Gaga, Rihanna, Miley Cyrus, and Justin Bieber. Their production value is always outstanding and they are all-rounders when it comes to entertainment.

You are known to be carefree, confident and Dabanng. Were you always like this as a kid?
Yes , I’ve got these traits from my dad (Shatrughan Sinha). My father always told me till the time you are honest you should be fearless.

On a different note, does Sonakshi nurture any Hollywood dreams?
As of now No. I am very content with the work I am doing here. But if something really interesting comes my way, I would give it a thought just as I do to all my projects here. But I am definitely not chasing it.

On the film front, you have been part of many Rs 100-crore films. You are a lucky charm for producers, aren’t you? 
Thanks! But I don’t think you can give only Luck the credit for the success of these films. The films did well because they struck the right chord with the masses. It is the hard work of a great team and I am happy to have been a part of these blockbusters.

To wind up, give us a lowdown on your forthcoming projects.
Coincidentally my next release, Noor will be during the Da-Bangg tour on April 21. In Noor I play a journalist. It is a role very close to my heart. After Noor there is the Ittefaq remake  opposite Siddharth Malhotra. In Ittefaq, my character has shades of grey for the first time in my career. The audiences have never seen me play a negative role before and I am really excited.

About digantaguha

To introduce myself, I am a journalist, blogger and have also taught Political and Sports Journalism in the Future Media School in Kolkata. I am currently working with Sports News Crunch as a Consulting Editor and as a Guest Faculty at the Techno India University. Over all, I have around 15 years of experience as a journalist having worked with esteemed publications like Hindustan Times, Business Standard, The Pioneer and others. You can contact me at diganta2211@gmail.com. Diganta Guha
This entry was posted in Films and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

