Nawaz gets nostalgic about time spent with late film critic Roger Ebert

nawaz

Nawazuddin Siddiqui

It was this month, four years ago, that one of world’s greatest critics Roger Ebert left for his heavenly abode. Actor Nawazuddin Siddiqui reminisces about his fond memories with the critic and historian who also established the Ebertfest Film Festival in Champaign Illinois, USA. For the 14th edition of the Ebertfest, Ebert had selected ­ Iranian filmmaker Asghar Farhadi’s drama A Separation and Prashant Bhargava’s debut film, Patang, starring Nawaz which floored the late critic. In April, 2012, Nawazuddin visited Champaign on Ebert’s invitation and stayed with him and his wife, Chaz, for eight days.

Talking about his experience recounts Nawazuddin,“That was my greatest international affair. I still smile when I think of all the wonderful memories I have with him. He loved Patang so much that he invited me to come and live with him for a few days. He said I was ‘a natural’ and I still think it was the greatest compliment ever.” And he adds, “I watched Citizen Kane with Roger saab and it felt like watching it for the first time. I had watched it years ago in a drama school and wanted to become an actor. Roger saab and I decoded the film for four hours. He’d done a voice-over for the film, it was magical.”

About digantaguha

To introduce myself, I am a journalist, blogger and have also taught Political and Sports Journalism in the Future Media School in Kolkata. I am currently working with Sports News Crunch as a Consulting Editor and as a Guest Faculty at the Techno India University. Over all, I have around 15 years of experience as a journalist having worked with esteemed publications like Hindustan Times, Business Standard, The Pioneer and others. You can contact me at diganta2211@gmail.com. Diganta Guha
This entry was posted in Films and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

